top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRose Sambrook

Washing the Rubbish - The Process.

After collecting rubbish from around my home at university I began to lay out the rubbish and sort it. Like with like. It was really dirty and so my natural instinct was to wash it. I took each piece and put it into a plastic container and rinsed it. I was particularly careful with the cigarette butts and sweet wrappers which are partly paper. I then wrapped them up in a kitchen towel to dry. It goes against everything that has been taught to us. We are taught rubbish is dirty and not to touch. It’s often connected to poverty and lower class. Rubbish is often classed as ugly, smelly and not desirable. And yet we are not doing enough to limit our rubbish and waste. To go through the process of hand washing each piece to try and return it to its original condition. It was only afterwards when I started to reflect on the process that I realised its significance. I was taking something unwanted, thrown away and dirty and treating it with the same care as I would my valuables. Giving a new start to rubbish and giving it a chance to find a new purpose. It goes against everything that has been taught to us. We are taught rubbish is dirty and not to touch. It’s often connected to poverty and lower class. Rubbish is often classed as ugly, smelly and not desirable. And yet we are not doing enough to limit our rubbish and waste. To go through the process of hand washing each piece to try and return it to its original condition. What I ended up with was rubbish I felt more comfortable touching and displaying. I don’t know whether that was my OCD or just because I can get ill very easily but I now at least I know there is nothing on the rubbish.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page