top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRose Sambrook

Presenting Elbow Room, an Online exhibition exploring dialogue liquid space.

For the interim show, I was placed into the group exploring the subject of ‘space’, a very relevant and fitting topic within my work. The show itself was challenging because it was all online due to COVID-19. for the show I felt it was important for me to create something that embodied the theme, but also was a fitting representation of my project so far. initially I had wanted to create a ‘moving collage’ stop motion film which captured the in between space between nature and urban life And show the fluidity in what seems still. This quickly became challenging and then Ultimately not doable with little access to my computer when it broke. I had also never edited or create a film before and with such little time I decided to explore a more stable creation for the show.

I began by photographing what I was predominantly interested in documenting through my work which was the dynamic between immediate and surrounding nature, and the urban residential world. This was in the space in my kitchen, and it became almost obsessive the way I continually documented the space. Through the documentation, small and sometimes big inconsistencies started to appear And yet the window frame (the lens in which I use to view the outside world) remained steady, only really changing shades throughout the day.

This collection inspired me to create an all encompassing collage which forcibly combined all variations to create a new space entirely.

This collage is a piece made in response to my desire to capture the fluidity and changing aspects of immediate and accessible nature. Through continual documentation the nature is viewed through the lens of residential and urban spaces. This collage specifically is made up of 100 of images from the same spot on my flat, picking up on the inconsistencies, variations and movements that evolve, while the flat and the window frame remain grounded and still. The dynamic between the two spaces is shifted, and the two opposing worlds become forcibly combined through perspective. This in itself creates a new space entirely, an in between space.


--

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page