top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRose Sambrook

The Collection.

I started to wonder how much rubbish is all around us. How much we just accept as normal, without really seeing it, let alone being shocked by it. Have we become accustomed to litter surrounding us? I know I certainly had. It really made me realise how much, when I stepped outside the classroom door and within two feet I had my first 3 pieces of litter, then after another 20 feet I had found over 15 pieces! In such a tiny place I was completely taken aback by the sheer number of pieces of rubbish I found left. My wish and my hope is to simply educate on the importance of treating our planet with kindness and respect. Because if we do not, we are not going to last very long as a species. I began collecting as a sort of experiment , but the project has grown into something bigger. The collection and the wall of rubbish is confronting us to face our reality. The pieces are no longer individual pieces of rubbish, they come together as a collective to create Art. Art that makes you question your reality, what you are told is normal and what you can do differently. What's your purpose? What's the purpose of the litter? Does it have one?


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page