top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRose Sambrook

The Barge House Show/Exhibition

I've been poorly in the run up to the exhibition and so all my exploration and experimentation didn't exactly go to plan or get done the way I wanted. I decided to follow up on my exploration of the cigarette walls and the effect of cigarette butts on our planet, our over consumeristic lifestyles and our impending doom. To accompany the cigarette wall, I began to look at retro and original cigarette adverts. The immense ignorance and grossly misinformed messages of these adverts are worrying, funny and quite awful. Some of the messages being 'don't eat just smoke' and 'expectant mother crave these cigarettes'. The idea of the power of advertisement combined with wrong information makes for a dangerous cocktail. I look to explore the power of these videos within my work and combine them with the cigarette wall. My plan was to edit these videos, slow them right down to emphasize the immense stupidity of the words being spoken. I edited the videos together to create a painfully slow rendition of the original advertisement. However I had so much trouble with playing the videos on a screen and getting it on a usb disc. The video would not play unless it remained unedited. Due to little time and the work needing to be submitted for the shBlog post. I will be continuing outside of the work for show to try and find a way to successfully edit and display the videos and include them in my artwork.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page