top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRose Sambrook

What I took away from my tip experience.

Updated: Sep 29, 2019

Below is the fireplace I spoke about in my previous blog post. I Think it holds so much history, culture and beauty and I was so sad I couldn't re home it. I really hope that somebody else re homed it or at least took it to use or take apart, re purpose it.


I discovered so many pieces that where not broken, barely used and looked brand new. I realised how much waste was there. I decided I wanted to find something I could breathe new life into. Something not in the pile they where selling but something 'Unusable' that would not have been bought and would have been thrown away and not likely recycled. What I found was these old wooden doors with glass panels. The outside wood was worn and rotten and weather had obviously deteriorated the appearance. I knew they wouldn't be bought, even the metal was rusty and breaking. I decided to get them. Even though they were separate to the selling pile the guy asked for a pound for both doors. I happily agreed and we took the home. As well as some wooden slates and boards we pulled from multiple tips. My initial plan was to sand down and take apart the wood and re use in craft projects for my friends and family, perhaps fill a need if anyone needs something. I also new that the wooden boards would be used among my classmates for painting onto and was a cheap alternative to paying £20 for new wooden boards.







3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page