top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRose Sambrook

Reconnecting with immediate nature.

Through my project journey a reoccurring theme has been my goal to reconnect with nature and learn more about the natural environment that surrounds me. After exploring a more archival style of documenting my finds and research, I wanted to start to explore the aesthetic elements of how nature interconnects with everyday life. To create the images I wanted to physically show the close proximity of nature surrounding my apartment/flat. I went around and photographed all nature that was visable from my flat only. This ended up being : some grass, a few trees and a couple bushes. I felt it was important in the images to keep some element of my own personal environment in the shot to document the two worlds connecting. The results where nature, framed through the structural properties of my apartment (my own space). The combination of the two worlds combined to create a new space. The “inbetween”. I think the result defintely achieves its initial aims and looks at a more aesthetic exploration of my own relationship with nature. Because of this I think the photos are effective, however moving forward I would like to experiment with collage and combing the images to create an Almost Panasonic photograph of the nature surrounding me. This would hopefully harness the slight variations provided in both my own environment and nature and combined would create a complete idea of the nature instead of one small snippet. The result is a hopeful photo that mirrors what many of us are feeling while being stuck inside during lockdown. The aesthetic captures the hopeful longing of going outside, its beauty and peaceful qualities of nature while remaining grounded by my own space. The space I’m currently in, due to the covid lockdown is so small and yet my whole world is inside of it: my art, my friends (online), my exercise, my medicines, my leisure, my rest, my restaurants (my own cooking), my art gallery And my home. This one space has been pressured into having hundreds of uses and so grounding that into my photographs was really important. These images are through the lens of my own space.













6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page