top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRose Sambrook

Projecting the process

After experimenting with the visual aesthetic similarities between the fruit and the body I began to explore ways I could further reveal this connection. The photos of the disintegrated raspberries to me, felt like medical slides showing some kind of flesh wound or injury. This likeness fascinated me because of the clear aesthetic link between man and nature. I wanted to find a way to highlight this in the way I present my wodk. I had also been feeling that my work was being limited in its presentation. Posting to my art Instagram was convenient and was to me the logical way to showcase my work. And although that’s ok, my work felt limited in that space, I wanted to find a space that was solely created for my art. For people to experience my art without the added experience of social media. Being in lockdown this really frustrated me, especially in my goal of creating an immersive engaging environment. That’s when I started experimenting with projecting my work. The projector gave me a process that my work had to go through in order to exist in reality and also allowed the work itself to interact with my personal environment. The projections also played into the connection between medical slides and the fruit photographs, as the projections appeared as if they were a medical slide show.


The projections allowed me to Play around with creating an immersive experience. Recreating and re shaping my personal environment and space. An in between piece that connected the breakdown of food, its form and aesthetic mixed with my own personal environment (my bedroom) because of the limits that COVID brings in my choices f places to project. The result is a collaboration of nature and a somewhat urban environment. This reconnection acts as a gesture of Voyerism, admiration and appreciation for the delicate, ethereal and sublime. I think the projections are an effective way to present me work that isn’t just an upload of an image. However I do want to experiment with creating a space whether that’s online or not, specially for my art to exist. The projections although successful where difficult when trying to compose them. Due to the small space, lines, brick, walls and general living area is inevitably going to be in the end snapshot. This was something I tried to turn into a positive by having the projections interact or align with the environment. This wasn’t always effective but I’m going to continue to experiment with ways I can project into the space.








6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page