top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRose Sambrook

Pop Up Exhibition. Re Purposing Matter.


To start the term, we produced a pop up exhibition in our studios with our summer project work. It was a really good way to visually see our work displayed and get feedback from other artists who from an outside perspective can spot things that are effective in our work and things that can be improved. My work explores the themes of matter, material and purpose. And how we can use material that has lost its use, to for fill a purpose.

The piece i showed in the show was a piece that was made with recycled wood that I pulled from a Tip. The wood couldn’t be recycled because of its slightly rotten outside wood and metal rusty screws. I took the wood, sanded it down and cut it into little plates. And made door signs for my friends and family, personalised for them.

The pieces where meant to represent the importance of re using, recycling and re purposing. Especially in our current climate. Our world is dying, and I think it’s important to do what we can to help change our future.

I was happy with the groups verdict as it mostly mirrored the themes I was trying to portray. They recognised the theme of re purposing materials and thought it was really effective however they felt the theme could have been more obvious. A suggestion which I loved was to display some of the pieces of the rotten door or photographs of the door and tip that were not usable, below or shown next to the door numbers. A sort of used carcass of what remains of the door. I think that could be a really interesting way to visually link the ideas and let the audience see the journey and origin of the final product.

I want to include some aspect of this continuing with this work. The crit really helped me realise that the message and origin wasn't as clear when you just look at the signs.

Another thing that they picked up on was the symbolism of class, wealth and hierarchy with the doors and door signs representing class systems and status. I realise now that without the visual of the door and title of repurposing matter, the meaning was very easy to interprete wrongly. I probably would have done the same if it wasn't my project.

Another thing that they picked up on was the symbolism of class, wealth and hierarchy with the doors and door signs representing class systems and status. I realise now that without the visual of the door and title of repurposing matter, the meaning was very easy to interpret wrongly. I probably would have done the same if it wasn't my project.

Going forward I want to refine the way I present the work and my final outcomes in order to fully represent the theme with clear links. But also leaving room for interpretation which I think is so important to be able to understand how others view your work.

Over all im really happy about the Crit, The show went well and my door signs where effectively displayed. However I would like to refine my way of portraying the message.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page