top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRose Sambrook

Going to the Tate

I found this sculpture At the Tate Britain. By the artist Marwan Recaoui and Rachel Whiteread. I love how this piece explores space within conflict. The piece looks at an office building turned sniper outpost within the Lebanese civil war. Because it was too difficult and expensive to remove or demolish and so know acts as a non official memorial cite within the city. A really interesting look at how space can be changed and determined by those around it. This space was then re made and has no ultimate purpose than to relay the story of the original building and Lebanese civil war. This particular piece is Made of concrete and wood and stood around 5 feet tall. This one piece stuck out to me from the other pieces at the Tate Modern because of its exploration of purpose and space. Two themes I’ve explored a lot in my own work. My previous project in my first year of university, was looking at the purpose of a public townhall , left unused and purposeless. This piece inspires me to explore personal and public space and look further into the political and social aspects of spaces and there impact on our life. I also am interested in exploring purpose and re purposing the forgotten or abandoned. Stay Tuned.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page