top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRose Sambrook

Fleshy fruits

I continued photographing my food waste this time focusing more on the fleshy left overs instead of the dry foods like onion peel, bread and meat. I did a number of experimental photos where I enhanced the colours and the result has created a really visceral and almost anatomical result in which the flesh of the fruit appears as though it’s actually biological matter, like the inside of a lung or fleshy tissue. I really like the idea of the image appearing to be a mix of beauty and grotesque gore when in reality the result is much more innocent, simply leftover, rotten or partly eaten fruit. A subject that continually arises within my project without me purposefully prompting it, is the connection, similarity and parallels between humans and nature. You can see this through these pictures where the fruit almost takes on the properties of human biology and flesh through its form and colours.


I think these images where successful in the way they hold a seductive quality to the, which is exactly what I had hoped to achieve . However I want to move forward to create a more immersive work that engages more with its own environment. Hopefully I can create work that is engaging but also abstract in nature. I like the play between familiarity and the image being ultimately unrecognisable. I’m also going to start experimenting with ways I can present my work that isn’t limited just to photographs. I want to create a space where my art can exist and show its potential instead of my work being limited to the social media space it’s currently being shown in ( my art Instagram). Living and creating in a pandemic has limited my work but I want to experiment and develop a space where my work is presented in a really effective way. A specific space that adds to the work instead of a space that’s convenient.





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page