top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRose Sambrook

Creating the archive, and seeing the archive as art.

After looking at Alan Sonfists work ‘Time Landscape’ I became interested in the archival way he documented his research in the years before he made the piece itself. I know that eventually within my work I hope to create a piece that produces a clear benfit to its natural environment whether through communication or through a physical benefit. In order to get to the stage where I can create a piece of art that is of benfit, I first needed a better understanding of my personal environment. This is when I began documenting, researching and studying my personal environment, and collecting my findings in an archival like book. The process proved really interesting and enjoyable to me, yet somewhat ironic. i tried to experience my local natural environment, spend time with and document and research plants and shrubs that I found, with a key interest in the native, Indigenous and non native plants. The reason why I say that this is somewhat ironic is because of my severe allergies to nature; to trees, plants, grass, flowers, and most creatures found in nature. These allergies mean my appreciation and documentation was all done by afar; through watching and not through interacting. After speaking to class mates and teachers about the collection they made me realise that the collection could be the work. thats when I began researching the archive and how the archive can be art. Through creating the book I specifcally reviewed plants and shrubs and general information. My hope is to build the research until the book becomes a piece in and of itself. in the mean time I will continue to experiment in projection and documentation of the appreciation I have found myself having for nature.







7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page